15 minute simple Microwave Nikujyaga

Konnichiwa.
I can’t believe it’s already September!
Time flies so fast!

I’m still struggling with tough work of my first mid-term in Australia.
but even if I’m busy I am eager to eat something healthy & yummy X)

Today’s menu that I’m going to introduce is “Nikujyaga”. (Stewed tasty potatoes and meat with veges)

Nikujyaga is one of the most common meals at home in Japan.
which normally is cooked in a pot.

IMG_4399

but if you use a microwave, it will take just 15 minutes until it becomes ready to serve.

I changed some ingredients such as meat from thin sliced pork to bacon,
to make it easier in Australia.

Basic ingredients are 3 potatoes, 2 bacons (normally sliced pork or beef),1/2 carrots, 1/2 onions and 3-4 snow peas.
Yes, you can get all of them at supermarkets.

IMG_4383 IMG_4386

Step1 Please cut bacons and vegetables into pieces. (Tips: don’t cut potatoes too small)
If you have washed baby potatoes, it is not necessary to peel the skins 🙂

IMG_4387

Step 2
Put potatoes, carrots, & onions on the plate, add 50ml  of water.
cover it with the microwave cling wrap and heat it up with 900w for 3 minutes.

IMG_4384IMG_4392

Step3

Mix 50ml of mentsuyu (available at Asian super markets) & 150ml of water.
Add snow peas and bacons
& gently pour it over the vegetables.

IMG_4382IMG_4388IMG_4395

Step 4 Cover with wrap again, and heat it up with 600W for 15 minutes 🙂

IMG_4397

Step 5: Heat additional snow peas & carrots for decoration with a little water, if you want (wrapped, 900W, 1 minute).

IMG_4398

Step 6 Put snow peas and carrots on the top of the Nikujyaga.
IMG_4399

For this recipe, I actually skipped all troublesome steps to measure sugar, sake, soysauce, dashi-soup by using only “mentsuyu”.

You will be amazed because it actually tastes the same.
I’m glad if it helps to save your time when you want to try Nikujyaga 😀 !!

If you would like to know the proper way, this link could be useful:)

Thank you for reading my blog;)

5 thoughts on “15 minute simple Microwave Nikujyaga

  1. Pingback: The Lazy Cook’s Easy and Cute Japanese Recipes – THE JAPAN BLOG DIRECTORY

  2. I have just learned about your blog from the Japan Blog Directory and I’m so glad! I’m looking forward to seeing more of your posts with recipes. I know I’ll enjoy trying some of them. Good luck and thanks for including the great photos with the recipes.

      • I am keeping a list of ingredients so when I can try each recipe. I love learning to make these dishes and your recipes are written so clearly and very easy to follow. I appreciate it very much! I’m going to make the pork and cabbage first.

      • >Ann
        Great thanks for your comment!
        Yes, it might be a bit troublesome to get all ingredients especially seasoning for you first.
        Please feel free to ask any questions if you have. Good luck for your first try;)!

Leave a comment